Why Sugar Is Poison to Depression

I think I’m being told to give up sugar. I’ve been having a lot of signs lately. This being one. In my Intensive Outpatient Therapy, yesterday, we talked about the effects of sugar and a couple days before that, I was thinking I need to give up sugar. I’m not sure how to commit too it. This is one of my huge addictions. I don’t know where to start.

Therese J. Borchard

Sugar_2xmacroI have a theory: Many people who suffer from chronic severe depression and anxiety are allergic to sugar and foods like white flour that the human body processes like sugar.

Like most of my theories, I have tested this one on my 13-year-old son, because his brain is most like mine in our family (poor guy). After he has consumed three pumpkin muffins, his character completely changes, like the Green Goblin (Norman Osborn) in Spider-Man. Depending on the amount of fructose corn syrup in the muffins, his head sometimes spins around like Linda Blair in The Exorcist, and his pupils can do a 360 in the eye sockets. He is horribly obnoxious for about three hours—twerking at the refrigerator, riding his lacrosse stick like a horse through the living room–and then he starts sobbing: “I hate my life!! Someone please shoot me!” Often the next morning he will wake…

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

