I is for…INSOMNIA!

Last night was a night of insomnia. First I didn’t feel like going to bed early (which I’m trying to get in the habit of), then when I did go to bed, I couldn’t sleep. One reason was because my brain was going, and the other reason is because I kept coughing. I had been asked to come in at 10 am today, to cover the last half of a shift for a coworker. When she called me yesterday, she sounded horrible on the phone. I couldn’t figure out why she only wanted me to cover half her shift. Today though, I was very thankful that she only wanted half her shift covered. Had she wanted me to cover the whole shift, I would have only gotten a couple hours of sleep. After work, we had a work meeting, so I didn’t get out of there until about 330 pm. While we were sitting in the meeting, I felt like the sandman had visited. I started to feel really tired. After work though, I had to go to the pharmacy and had a couple glitches, that took a bit longer then I had expected. By the time I got home it was WAY to late to take a nap. So now I am sitting here, trying to stay awake for just a bit longer. I am thinking I will go enjoy my LAST cigarette, and then start heading to bed.

So last night, I had cravings for about two hours, and said screw it, and went and bought a pack of smokes. I had gone to get the rest of the prescriptions I needed yesterday and had hoped to pick up the nicotine patches my doctor prescribed. The pharmacy said they were out, and would have more today. When I went in there, I found out, they actually aren’t caring the dose I was prescribed. They went and pulled them off the shelf in the store, and I got them that way. Then I had to pay out of pocket for the tessalon perles, for my cough because Oregon Health Plan wouldn’t cover them again, until the 18th. Ummm…I’m coughing NOW! Anyway they were only $14.99 (or so), and then I had a pharmacy discount card which brought them down to $10 something. Anyway back to my original point, I am starting the patch tomorrow. I bought a pack of smokes, the type that some coworkers smoke and gave the rest to them. I save two out for this evening. After the last one I am DONE smoking, and can start with the patch tomorrow, to help with my cravings.

I am hoping that since i am SO tired, and after I take a warm shower or bath (haven’t decided which yet), that I will be able to sleep all night. If I take the tessalon perles, that should help with my coughing.

Nighty-night!
Devin

2 thoughts on “I is for…INSOMNIA!”

  1. Aw Devin, you’re going through a tough time. trying to quit while feeling like crap, is never easy, seldom successful. When we know a puff will at least make us feel a little better, it’s too tempting. The patches are good and I usually also use the inhalers at the same time for a little while, they’re good. best of luck, but try not to beat yourself up if you don’t manage or have a wee slip up

Leave a Reply

