A Time I Cheated & Got Caught

I really wanted to blog tonight but I didn’t have any ideas of what to write about. I was searching online for righting prompts, and after going through a few websites and ideas, I found this one.

When I was a sophomore in high school, I decided to take Algebra I through home school.  I’m really not sure why this was decided. My parents weren’t really math whiz’s beyond basic math, and I wasn’t a self-motivated person. Just doing my regular homework, I usually needed someone over my shoulder in order for me to get it done. The only reason I can think of that this may have been decided was if I needed extra math credits. I’ll have to ask my parents about that some time.

Now I am NOT a math person. I hate math! Ask me to write you a story and I’m all there, but math I dread. When I was in college getting my associates degree in Criminal Justice, I had to take Trig & Algebra. I was failing until another teacher, other then the one teaching the class, explained things in another way. Then I ended up with a C and to me that was an A when it came to math.

So back to my original story. Right away when I looked at the math book it was like reading another language. I’m not sure how far into the course I was when I got the idea, but I started cheating. I would usually work it out to do assignments in my room or when my parents were gone. I would take the teacher’s addition and copy out of it. I would copy the work and made sure to get a couple wrong here and there. I had to make it look believable. Then I had the tests. I realized my parents never sat in the room or payed much attention when I was taking the tests. When they were gone, I would take the teacher’s addition test book and copy all the work and answers onto a piece of paper. Then I would hide it and use it to cheat on the tests. This worked really great, and with getting a few wrong here and there, I ended up with a B+. My mom was really proud of me and told me I did really good. I felt really guilty but didn’t say anything.

It wasn’t until my junior year in high school that I had problems. I was at a boarding school this year and was taking a regular algebra II class. Of course I didn’t have a clue to what was going on. That dreadful foreign language was back and I didn’t know the first thing about it. My teacher Mr. G was really nice and understanding. He tried to work with me outside of class to help me understand it. It just wasn’t working. Finally, I told him what happened. He was actually really supportive and sympathetic to me. He said I would need to drop Algebra II, so that I could take Algebra I over. In order to drop a class and take another one, I would need permission from my parents. That meant I had to own up to my mistake. This was really hard to do and I still remember that phone call, like it was yesterday. So I ended up taking Algebra I from another teacher one on one. This teacher was pretty good at explaining it, and my final grade was still a B+.

What I learned is that cheating never gets you anywhere. It may feel like it’s working in the beginning, but in the end, it will be found out. Not only does it hurt yourself but the people around you. Then you also have to deal with the embarrassment and humiliation of what you did. So my advice, is to be honest and don’t cheat. If it’s something you need help with like schoolwork, ask for help. If it’s a relationship thing, get counseling. You may think you won’t get caught but you most likely will. And if you don’t, you will live with the guilt of what you are doing is wrong. Sometimes that’s worse then just having everything be out in the open.

So that’s my story. Hope you enjoyed it and can learn from my mistake.

Love & Peace
Devin

Leave a Reply

