SLEEP!

One of the articles I was reading in my Psychologies magazine talks about needing 8 hours of sleep a night. It points out how much of an effect sleep can have on depression and negative thoughts. I’ve heard this a lot growing up, and believe I need 8 hours of sleep. Even though I believe I need 8 hours of sleep, I usually only get 5 1/2-6 1/2, depending on the night. On mornings that I work I get up at 4 am, which would mean I need to get to bed by 8 pm. There are days now this month though where I will be doing 6 am-10 am and then going back for a 4 pm to 8 pm shift. So the earliest i could be in bed there, is probably 9 pm and that would be pushing it. As it is now when I’m not working the evening shift, I don’t usually get to bed until 10 pm. When I first started working, I was trying to get to bed by 8 pm, and then 9 pm; it seems to be getting later and later. So now I try to figure out how to get closer to 8 hours of sleep. Maybe I need to add just a half hour at a time for awhile. So start with getting to bed at 930 pm for a couple weeks or a month, then add another half hour, until I get to 8 hours of sleep. I wish it was easier for me to go to bed, but sometimes I just procrastinate. And then I need to stick to going to bed and getting up at the same times, even on my days off, and that’s REALLY hard.

Any thoughts or ideas, feel free to share!

Wish me luck!
Devin

2 thoughts on “SLEEP!”

    1. It can be frustrating. At my job I make sure that there is at least a shift between working shifts. Another words, I refuse to do doubles, and I don’t work until 10pm one night and come back 6 am the next morning. It’s frustrating because some of the younger employees will make comments like, “Well I do it.” It’s not any of their business for me to explain why I need my sleep or refuse it. I did the crazy shifts when I was younger and I know what it does to my body. So I will usually tell them yeah and when I was your age, I did the crazy shifts too. And leave it at that. In my head though sometimes I feel guilt or shame that I am not able to do what they can.

Leave a Reply

