Best Friends

Tonight I was watching an episode of Gilmore Girls where Paris and Rory get into a huge fight. They get called into Headmaster Charleston’s office, for a talk. It reminded me of 6th grade when my best friend M and I got called to the principal’s office.

So MW and I were best friends in 6th grade. We were in the same grade and in the same homeroom. We played together at recess and told all of our secrets to each other. We hung out at each other’s houses and had sleepovers. MW and I were in inseparable.
Then one day we got into this huge fight. I don’t remember what it was about or how long it lasted, but it was big. I was so mad at MW and she was so mad at me. Then one day I got an idea. I wrote a note to myself. It wasn’t a nice note and I used my left hand. I asked Mr. V if I could go to the principals office, and give the note to the principal. I gave the note to Mr. A and thought for sure that MW would be in the worst trouble. Instead Mr. A had both of us sit in his office and we got a big lecture about friendship, and how important friends are. After the lecture, I don’t know how long it took us to make up, but we eventually did. That wasn’t our last fight but we got through it. We were still friends on Facebook until I deactivated mine.

Friendship IS important and I wish I had understood how important in 6th grade. I’ve learned a lot since then, and know now, better how to appreciate my friends in my life. My friends now aren’t just about what they can do for me, but what we can do for each other.

Love & Peace
Devin

Leave a Reply

