Balancing Act

For all of my working adult years, I have been trying to figure out the balancing act. When I work 40 hours a week, I am exhausted! I don’t understand how people can work 40 hours a week, and get anything else done. I come home from work and all I want to do, is sit down to my latest show and relax. I don’t have the energy to do anything else. Doing cleaning on my days off is the best, as far as when I get things done. The idea of working 40 hours a week for the rest of my life is SO overwhelming! I don’t know how people work and go to school full-time plus have children. I would go crazy!

I am living with my aunt and uncle and do 10 hours of cleaning for them, for room and board. Now that I have a job I go to work and come home, to cleaning. These next two weeks are overwhelmingly busy, and I’m trying to figure out how I am going to get anything at home done. I was going to do some things tonight but after work and then a counseling appointment, I just wanted to sit down, so did. Now I have Thursday and Friday to get 9 more hours of stuff done and don’t have the faintest clue on how to do it. Next week is also going to be hectic and so I don’t know what is going to happen there either. Then on top of that, I owe 6 hours for some hours I missed a few times a couple months ago. This is all so overwhelming that I don’t know how to tackle it.

So how do people balance everything out and not be so totally exhausted? Or are they exhausted and they do it anyway? I don’t like being so tired all the time. I want to be able to enjoy my life and my time. So how do I do that, and survive???

Any thoughts are great!

Love & Peace
Devin

2 thoughts on “Balancing Act”

  1. Are you a schedule/routines person? If so, that might be your best bet at fitting those ten hours in without getting exhausted. Breaking the work up into manageable pieces with some relaxing fit in between might help you divide up the week into manageable chores. Good luck!

  2. Hello,
    Yeah, that’s kind of what I do but it still seems hard to get everything done. I have very good intentions every day of getting things done and will write a list of things for the next day, but then the next day comes and I get home and am exhausted so a lot of times say “screw it!” Then all of a sudden I’m having to squeeze the hours in at the end of the week. I’m trying to balance it better then when I first got my job but I just have being tired and exhausted all the time. I just don’t like this feeling all the time.

    Thanks for your advice and commenting! 🙂

    Devin

Leave a Reply

